Combined Authorities

26th May 2016 - Combined Authorities geography now available on Nomis.


  • Claimant count/JSA series
  • DWP benefits series
  • Annual Population Survey
  • Population Estimates/Projections
  • Jobs Density

Combined authorities are a legal structure set up by groups of local authorities in England that allow for certain functions (for example, transport and economic development) to be delegated from central government. They were introduced under the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 and further developed by the Cities and Local Government Devolution Act 2016.

As at April 2016, there were six combined authorities but more are expected to follow in the coming months and years. The geography will be expanded on Nomis once new combined authorities become operative.